ardently seeking a life
It's Good Actually
shaking things up a little
1
0:00
-0:42

shaking things up a little

enjoy my special little intro and sorry if you HATE IT
1

I’m feeling defensive right now but I’m not going to talk about why. Sorry if you’re nosy but mind your own business. I’m trying to set up therapy with this new woman and she begins all her email replies with “hi again :)” so naturally I trust her immediately.

White women (and white gays) have been duking it out on the TL about the new Wicked casting decisions. Good for them. It’s important to care about your culture (and dunking on Lea Michele). And I won’t lie, I think Wicked has a pretty mean soundtrack. It’s one of the few musicals (along with Heathers and the war and peace one whose title I can never remember but it involves a comet) that I can withstand.

Image

I’ve been talking about Succession so much lately that I feel like I’m starting to lose the prestige and gravitas of being Friend Who Watches Succession (lol) but also I think that’s partly due to the fact that it is becoming more and more popular. A lot of people hate when something they love gets to a certain level of mainstream adoration (the Friends-ification of New Girl, the Office-ication of Arrested Development, etc) but I am not… above saying that I am one of them. I don’t think Succ is that level of popular (YET) but I have been seeing some awful takes about it by people who are simply too baby-brained to understand conflict that’s not Marvel’s bad guys vs. good guys, and it’s like resisting the urge to scratch an itch.

If I had a big enough Twitter account, I could easily become the most hated person on the website by tweeting something like,

But God has decided I’m not ready to abuse that kind of power. One day….

1 Comment
ardently seeking a life
It's Good Actually
Consuming media has never been easier... but also harder? Join hosts Maisha Razzaque and Emily Huffman as they parse through the viral hits, blockbuster bombs, and newest sensations to tell you what you've been wanting to know: yes, It's Good, Actually.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
blondemezz
Recent Episodes